Dairy-free Orange Cupcakes 

Food allergies and dietary requirements are something I’ve come to accept as part of my life now. I personally don’t have any (although I will happily tell anyone offering me oysters that I have an oyster allergy) but as part of my job I have to understand and be able to adjust recipes and meals to cater to dietary requirements.

I was listening to a radio show the other day where an expert in allergies was complaining about parents who go around telling their kids that they have certain allergies without first testing them out. I don’t know if it’s part of this fad or if something is wrong with our modern diets but the one allergy I get the most is lactose intolerance. This recipe is for dairy free cupcakes (if you grate some carrot into it and add flaked almonds it works well as a muffin mix too). To change the colour of the cupcakes just add food colouring and play around. You’ll  notice there isn’t any egg in this recipe either. If you leave the marshmallow off it works for people with egg intolerances too.

I iced the cupcakes with a home made marshmallow since it has no dairy either. I have the marshmallow recipe on this blog as well. Please search for it in the search box above. The recipe makes about 12 large cupcakes.

Ingredients 

  • Self-raising Flour – 225g
  • Castor Sugar – 50g
  • Almond milk – 250ml
  • Olive oil – 200ml
  • Orange zest – 30ml
  • Orange juice – 45ml
  • Vanilla essence – 5ml
  • Almond essence – 2,5ml

Method

  1. Sieve the flour and combine it with the sugar.
  2. In a separate bowl whisk the oil and milk together.
  3. Add the essences, rind and juice to the milk and oil.
  4. Mix the wet and dry ingredients together and bake at 180°C for about 20mins.

Leave a Reply

