How to make Pinotage wine ice cream

There’s nothing I love more than coming up with cool and funky new recipes with ingredients you wouldn’t think would work.  I always say to people that the best recipes are the ones that come from mistakes.

Over the past year I’ve been fiddling with different methods of making different ice creams. I’ve made some crazy ones like beetroot ice cream and I’ve had some hit-and-miss ones too like my Strawberry and caramel one. Yesterday I decided to give this ice cream making a bash again and I think I’ve struck gold.

I share all my recipes simply because I love people taking the time out to try them and I’m a firm believer in knowledge being a powerful tool to grow an industry.

I used Pinotage wine as it’s a South African wine and makes for an awesome pink colour but you can use any wine you’d like. The colour and taste will obviously change and be altered.

You can use this recipe with an ice cream machine (highly recommended, that’s what I used) or you can do it the old school way of churning the ice cream yourself by whisking the mix for a few seconds every 20 minutes over 3 hours whilst it freezes in the freezer.

image

Pinotage ice cream

Ingredients
180g castor sugar
375ml full cream milk
375ml double cream (normal cream will work too)
125ml Pinotage
1 vanilla pod
7 egg yolks (from large eggs)
Optional: teaspoon of pink food colouring. Use this only if you’re not happy with the colour of your custard

Method
1.  Separate the eggs and place the egg yolks in a clean bowl.
2. Pour the wine into the egg yolks and whisk until combined.
3. Place the milk, cream and sugar in a pot and place on a medium heat. Do not boil.
4. Cut the vanilla pod lengthways and scrape the vanilla seeds out and add them to the hot milk and cream liquid. Stir
5. Slowly pour the hot liquid into the egg yolk and wine mixture and stir until well combined. (this is your ice cream mixture or custard)
6. Place a piece of plastic wrap right on the surface of the custard and allow it to cool down at room temperature.
7. Place the custard in the fridge and allow to rest for a minimum of 12 hours.
8. Once the custard has rested in the fridge you can pour it into you ice cream machine to churn or you can begin the manual ice cream churning process I mentioned above.
9. Once your ice cream has churned sufficiently, allow it to set for about 6 hours in the freezer.

Scoop and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

