African piri piri sauce

I used to hate hot food. I couldn’t stomach the idea of having any heat in anything I ate…until I lived with brother and his lazy butt would buy hot wings instead of cook dinner. I had to adapt or die! Ok, I’m being slightly dramatic but that’s honestly how I started changing my image of hot food. Black folk and hot wings…and hot sauce.

image

Northsouthfood.com

This recipe is for a hot sauce. Not that vinegary one you get from take out places, this a proper “oh my gaaadddd what did I put in my mouth” hot sauce. It will get your eyes watering and have your forehead sweating.

African birds eye chilli peppers are considered one of the 10 hottest chillies in the world. They grow naturally in the wild all across Southern Africa. They’re very small in size compared to other chillies but pack a sizable punch.

image

The word “piri piri” is from Mozambique and is a general reference to chilli sauce. Depending on region every one makes it differently. Some just grind the chillies up with oil and use it like that.

Ingredients
6 Whole birds eye chilli peppers
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
1/2 teaspoon lemon zest
30g crushed and chopped garlic
100ml lemon juice
250ml Extra Virgin olive oil

Method
1. Remove the stems from the chillies and rinse.
2. Roughly chop the chillies place them in a pestle and mortar (or a food processor) with the salt, garlic and lemon juice. Crush (or blend) the mixture until fine. Add the olive oil and stir a little before pouring it into a jar.
3. Store in a cupboard. The longer you store it the hotter the sauce will become.

One thought on “African piri piri sauce

Leave a Reply

