My Oxtail stew recipe

Ok, I’ve just been tweeting about my lunch today, which is going to be oxtail and dombolo (both recipes are on this blog, just search in the search box above) and I swear by my Asian oxtail recipe. I reckon it’s the only way I’ll ever make oxtail til I die…Ok, maybe I’m exaggerating but its that good. So as these things go, not everyone wants to cook the way I cook…even though it’s a blog about my cooking. Lol.

Herewith an un-Asian oxtail stew recipe. Yes I make it this way at times too because not everyone like Asian flavours. Once again, and I won’t ever stop preaching about it, please make use of a proper beef stock. Not stock cubes or granules. If you’d like to know more about how to make proper beef stock I’ve got another entry on my blog about that too just search for the term “stock” and it will come up.

Ok. Onto the nitty gritty. The recipe…

Ingredients
2 tbsp oil
1 tbsp tomato puree
1 large onion , finely chopped
2 garlic cloves , finely chopped
3 cloves
1 tsp ground all-spice
1 tsp ground coriander
Handful fresh rosemary
Handful fresh thyme
1 tbsp Bovril
2 tbsp brown sugar
1,5kg Oxtail
2 tbsp flour
500ml lamb or beef stock (liquid stock NOT stock cubes)
Salt and pepper

Method:
– Rub the oxtail in the flour until coated.
– In a pot pour some of the oil and get the pot super hot.
– Place the oxtail in the pot and turn it until it’s brown on all sides. Scoop out the oxtail and place in a separate bowl for now and pour out the fat from the pot but leave the browned bottom behind (do not scrape this off, even if it looks burnt).
– Return the pot to the stove and throw in the onions and garlic and the rest of the oil. Once soft, add the tomato puree and stew until it browns. Add a little bit of water to the pan and keep stirring.
– Spoon in the rest of the ingredients and stir until the paste is one mixture. Now add the browned oxtail to the pot
– Pour in the stock and allow the pot to simmer uncovered for about 4 to 5 hours. If the stock reduces and you start seeing the oxtail stick up above it, add more to cover it.

9 thoughts on “My Oxtail stew recipe

  1. This Was the best oxtail I’ve ever tasted,and cooked,I love and enjoy cooking.I cooked this for my B’day,everyone enjoyed it,most people asked for take away in small containers as I cooked 4 ox tails so there was some left,we really enjoyed it.thanks once again

  2. Am I glad I found your blog….Phew!

    Your stories behind the food are really fascinating and just as well written. Generally my attitude to food preparation has been boiling the daylights out of meat, salt and that’s it.

    But, I gave your recipe above a try, and boy did it rock!!!!!

    As a non-cook, nor a chef, I really struggled finding the spices. Firstly, what is “All-spice”, none of the supermarkets around me had this I ended up buying some mixed “poitjie” spice at a local butchery, still the food was awesome.

    Secondly, tomato puree and tomato paste, can they be interchanged. I could only find large cans of tomato puree only to use 1 tbsp. How different is tomato puree from “home” grated tomato? Please bear with me here.

    Again I must say, I actually enjoyed the whole process of looking for these ingredients, to the actual cooking, the eating was obviously the icing.

    Thanks

    1. Hey Goitse, thanks for giving my recipe a try! All spice tends to be a bit tricky to find, the best place to get it would be at a spice bar. Some Food Lover’s Markets have them and also in Joburg if you go to Oriental plaza you’d be able to find some. Tomato puree and tomato paste are the same thing. You do get small little tubs if it at some supermarkets. It’s not the same as grated tomato at all! Rather try use Tomato puree when cooking stews, its more concentrated and adds more flavour to your dish. Good luck! Happy cooking!

Leave a Reply

