Health-freak Salmon pasta

Still continuing on the easy one pot wonders for winter. This one takes less than 30 minutes to get done. At the moment I’m on a healthy eating and gym plan and my new obsession is eating healthy food…but without doing all the prep work. I’m a professional chef, I spend nearly 11 hours on my feet in the kitchen, the last thing I want to do after all that is spend a few more hours at the stove when I get home.

This recipe normally uses cream and if you’re not looking for the healthiness but rather for more flavour than go ahead and use cream and parmesan instead of milk and cottage cheese. When I make this for customers and guests I use creme fraiche and parmesan.

You may use any pasta you like. My favourite pasta is Tagliatelle. I just find it looks classy on a plate and it doesn’t have that “oh no, my mom cooked this” feeling that one gets when seeing a bowl of spaghetti. Yes, I’m weird like that. To add that truly health-freak twist to it, go for wholewheat pasta. 18565_239

Ingredients:

  • 100g Tagliatelle pasta
  • 1 tbsp olive
  • 1 cup low-fat milk
  • 1 tsp flour
  • 2 stems spring onion sliced into rings
  • 2 large finely chopped garlic cloves
  • Big handful of cherry tomatoes, halved
  • 100g smoked salmon, cut into thin strips
  • Chopped peppadews
  • Handful chopped parsley leaves
  • 1 spoon crumbled cottage cheese
  • Handful of steamed broccoli, broken into small pieces

Method:

  • Cook the pasta as per instructions on the packet (or make it fresh yourself!)
  • In a separate pan place the COLD milk, garlic and flour and stir until thick (if using cream, simply stir in the grated parmesan until thick)
  • Once the pasta is done, drain and stir the sauce into it and the rest of the ingredients whilst its still hot.

That’s it! Seriously. Nothing more to it…and no guilt-trip afterwards either.

2 thoughts on “Health-freak Salmon pasta

Leave a Reply

