My Butternut Soup Recipe

Butternut soup

Butternut soup

A friend of mine hated soups for some reason she still doesn’t seem to know. I made this soup for her once and she’s become a believer ever since. It’s also one of my favourite things to eat.

South African foods tend to have a sweet and chilli or sour flavour to them. This is linked to the history of our food and the numerous cultures that call South Africa home. Butternut soup is one of those dishes that has taken on a life of its own in recent times. Come winter time people rush to Woolworths to buy ready-made cans and tubs of the stuff. To try get my brother and his girlfriend off the habit I made them this soup once and they too have become believers. It’s THAT good. Summer or winter, its filling and 100% vegetarian. I won’t go so far as to say it’s a healthy alternative as it does have loads of butter, sugar and cream.

The recipe calls for vegetable stock, please don’t use stock cubes! I’ve posted an entry earlier on in this blog explaining how to make vegetable stock, if you don’t have any close by rather use water instead. You’ll also need a hand blender to make it. It won’t work otherwise! Trust me, I’ve tried it without a blender and all I got was a tasty butternut puree.

Serve with toast or croutons and enjoy!

Ingredients

  • 210g finely chopped onion
  • 200g finely chopped celery
  • 2,5kg cubed butternut
  • 5g nutmeg, ground
  • 5g ginger, ground
  • 10g curry powder
  • 5g peri peri
  • 5g turmeric
  • 10g cinnamon
  • 5g ground coriander
  • 1 teaspoon fennel seeds
  • 20g brown sugar
  • 3 spoons butter
  • 20g garlic, finely chopped
  • 500ml vegetable stock (or hot water)
  • 250ml cream
  • Salt 

Method:

  1. Mix all the spices and sugar together in a bowl.
  2. Toss the butternut in the spices and place in a casserole dish or oven tray. Dot the butternut with the pieces of butter evenly and roast in the oven at 180 degrees Celsius covered in foil for 30 minutes. Remove the foil for the last 10 minutes in order to brown the butternut
  3. In a deep pot fry the garlic, celery and onions in a bit of oil until soft and translucent.
  4. Place the roasted butternut in the pot and mix it in with the fried vegetables.
  5. Pour enough vegetable stock to cover the vegetables and simmer for a few minutes.
  6. Blend the vegetables and stock with a hand blender until all chunks have been pureed. Taking care not to splash yourself.
  7. Add the cream and blend further. Season with salt.
  8. If the soup is still thick add more stock and blend further.

5 thoughts on “My Butternut Soup Recipe

  1. You changed the recipe?? I love making this soup and still use the recipe you posted on Twitter. Also, I use powdered vegetable stock – got it at Woolies – and it comes out fine, surely that’s still better than cubes, lol? I don’t use a hand blender, just a normal blender too. Thanks!

    1. Yeah, I changed it a bit. Like I said above, we don’t really measure when we make certain things but I sat and went through everything ingredient by ingredient and finally wrote it down.
      Eish, even the powder stuff isn’t stock but ok, if it works for you that’s cool.

  2. I love cooking, naturally, and would worry when I would use a lot of flavours in one dish, wondering if others would be able to “taste” the blends… I’m not a soup fan myself since childhood, but I’ve had this “butternut soup” calling since 5 years ago… I wasn’t aware that it had so many spices in it – obviously because I am not a soup fan… I thought it’s “pumpkin” soup that tastes like…runny pumpkin……. but this I think tastes good from just reading the ingredients.

    Cannot wait to try this.

Leave a Reply

