Vegetarian Dish: My Homemade Veggie Burgers

I’m a meat lover and love my burgers and roasts. Unfortunately I cant exactly force my eating habits onto others and with the world becoming more and more health conscious we chefs can be at the fore front of the food movement towards more environmentally aware food. Besides using organic meats another way is by trying to make vegetarian dishes that are delicious and will even get meat lovers enjoying them.

This is a recipe for my veggie burgers. We used to serve a vegetarian burger at The Westcliff hotel however in the whole time I worked there I never actually made any. This is a recipe I’ve fiddled with after getting over the fact that it doesn’t have meat. Hope you enjoy. Remember with burgers you can dress them anyway you want. Cheese, sauces, lettuce…its one of the few dishes where I’ll openly say add anything and everything you want to the final product. This recipe is simply for the patty. Recipe number 3 in my 6 part vegetarian recipe series this week. Enjoy

Veggie Burgers.

Veggie Burgers.

Ingredients (makes 4 patties):

  • 1 tbsp chopped Peppadews
  • 50g sweetcorn (off the cob)
  • 400g can chickpeas, drained
  • The zest of 1 lemon
  • Juice half a lemon
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 tsp ground coriander
  • Hand size bunch of fresh coriander leaves, chopped
  • 1 egg
  • 100g fresh breadcrumbs
  • 1 medium onion (finely chopped)
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • Salt & Pepper
  • 2 chopped chili peppers (optional)

Method:

  1. Blend the lemon zest, lemon juice, oil, chickpeas, egg, both corianders, chili pepper, cumin, 80g of the breadcrumbs in a food processor until it becomes a paste
  2. Mix in the chopped onion, peppadew and sweetcorn. Mix well. Season with salt and pepper. Taste the mixture (since its all veggies this is ok)
  3. Using a large pastry cutter, form the 4 round patties inside the pastry cutter. Remove each and then rub each in the remaining bread crumbs.
  4. Wrap each patty individually in cling/ plastic wrap and chill for 2 hours in the fridge.
  5. To prepare, grill on a flat surface like a normal burger.

2 thoughts on “Vegetarian Dish: My Homemade Veggie Burgers

  1. Yay! Love food blogs! And that u include vegetarian meals. Were flexitarians which mostly is a staple diet of vegetarian meals but we have one meat meal a week. So I’m looking forward to both types of blogs 🙂

    1. Hey Linsey! Been a while.
      Glad you can find things you like. I’m trying to post recipes and dishes that people can relate to. So if there’s anything you’d like me to cover, let me know!

Leave a Reply

