Cheftipping…reloaded

Tsa Nare Colour BlockFor about a year now I’ve been pushing a hashtag on Twitter that I started after getting frustrated with the “why is cheese so smelly?” type questions I’d get at times. I also grew frustrated with the gasps of exasperation I’d get from potential clients when I’d quote them for functions and events. People (by ‘people’ I am shamelessly referring to my fellow South Africans) don’t quite understand nor appreciate the art of being a professional chef (and yes, it IS an art…hence the term “Culinary Arts”). Since everyone eats, naturally people will assume most people can cook. I learnt this to not be true when on a crazy adventure I chose to follow a crazy dream and enrolled as a full time student at a chef school at the tender age of 26. I will chronicle the journey I’ve taken and the drama and nonsense I went through going from a well paid corporate suit to a miserable student and then to a fully-fledged food snob (as I’ve been told I’ve become). If you’re wondering, the hashtag I started was and still is called “#Cheftip”. It aims to educate as well and enlighten people to the many wonderful ways food can and has been manipulated through time and by us chefs.

Through this blog I hope to share laughs, tears, madness and also teach you a thing or two about the culinary world. By so doing I hope you pass on the knowledge to your family, friends, lovers and even your pet dog. Just you sharing the tale of a simple slice of a cheesecake I’ve taught you to make via this blog is reward enough for me.

I will be doing restaurant reviews, cookbook reviews, debunking housewife myths, publishing my favourite recipes, talk about my journey as I try open a business…basically anything and everything food related in my life.

I’m just a simple guy from Soweto with a laptop and an idea. Come journey with me…

3 thoughts on “Cheftipping…reloaded

  1. Hey Chef 🙂
    Came across this blog ke batla recipe ya magwinya .

    The blog and your approach is definitely a refreshing perspective , a lot of chefs I’ve come across are dirty , foul mouthed , not organized outside the kitchen and not human ! Hahahhaha but you have heart (read part 4 ya teaching prisoners how to cook) … Ke leboga go menagane gape ke go lakaletsa masego le matlhogonolo my brother . O tiise jaaka manaka a Nare .

  2. Hey Chef
    Came across this blog ke batla recipe ya magwinya .

    The blog and your approach is definitely a refreshing perspective , a lot of chefs I’ve come across are dirty , foul mouthed , not organized outside the kitchen and not human ! Hahahhaha but you have heart (read part 4 ya teaching prisoners how to cook) … Ke leboga go menagane gape ke go lakaletsa masego le matlhogonolo my brother . O tiise jaaka manaka a Nare .

    1. Thank you so much for the awesome feedback. Your description of us chefs made me laugh out loud though! I’m flattered that the nonsense that goes on in my head and is put onto this blog impresses you. Ke lebogile kudu kudu.

Leave a Reply

